Aspire Summer Institute

The virtual Aspire Summer Institute (ASI) will provide STEM faculty and faculty developer participants and their institutional teams with the opportunity to retreat, reflect and act to better support campus diversity, equity and inclusion efforts through the development of key skills applicable across faculty roles. Teams will be supported in growing their institutional capacity for this work, through mapping connections to existing diversity and inclusion programs at their institution and gaining skills as change agents. Teams are invited to continue to engage with one another through a virtual Community of Practice following the ASI. This no-cost virtual institute is sponsored by the NSF INCLUDES Aspire Alliance.

The Aspire Summer Institute will take place from Monday, June 7th, 2021 to Friday, June 11th, 2021. Each day will include synchronous online sessions from roughly 11-5:30 PM ET / 10 AM-4:30 PM CT / 9 AM -3:30 PM MT / 8 AM-2:30 PM PT, with breaks between activities.

The ASI has the capacity to host up to 40 participants. We are accepting applications from invited institutions and new teams from the Aspire IChange institutions that had participants attend last year’s Aspire Summer Institute, as these teams will be well situated to consider how to incorporate locally what they learn at the institute. Applications that demonstrate connections to local Aspire IChange teams or other campus change initiatives in the building of your team and that detail personal and institutional goals for attending the ASI will be prioritized. There will be no cost associated with the ASI for participants as the Aspire Alliance is fully supporting the cost of the institute.

Details about ASI activities, the daily agenda, and facilitators are available on the Aspire Summer Institute website.