Aspire Summer Institute

The virtual Aspire Summer Institute (ASI) will provide STEM campus leadership and faculty developers (at Centers for Teaching & Learning, STEM Education Centers, or similar entities) with the opportunity to retreat, reflect and act to better support campus diversity, equity and inclusion efforts through the development of key skills applicable across faculty roles. Institutional teams of participants will be supported in growing their institutional capacity for this work, through gaining skills as change agents and applying and adapting their learning to enhance existing campus-level DEI initiatives. Teams are invited to continue to engage with one another through a virtual Community of Practice following the ASI. This no-cost virtual institute is sponsored by the NSF INCLUDES Aspire Alliance.

The Aspire Summer Institute will take place from Monday, June 13th, 2022 to Friday, June 17th, 2022. Each day will include synchronous online sessions from roughly 11:30-5:30 PM ET / 10:30 AM-4:30 PM CT / 9:30 AM-3:30 PM MT / 8:30 AM-2:30 PM PT, with breaks between activities.

The ASI has the capacity to host up to 40 participants. We will be accepting applications from Aspire IChange institutions, as these teams will be well situated to consider how to incorporate locally what they learn at the institute. Applications that include team members with diverse positionality, that demonstrate connections to your local Aspire IChange team or other campus equity-focused change initiatives, and that detail personal and institutional goals for attending the ASI will be prioritized. Once accepted, participants will be expected to meet with their institutional teams at least once before the ASI to identify the particular problem and associated evidence they would like to bring to their ASI action planning. There will be no cost associated with the ASI for participants as the Aspire Alliance is fully supporting the cost of the institute.

Interested in the 2022 Aspire Summer Institute? See the ASI website for more details or Apply Now!