Texas Regional Collaborative

About Us

The Texas Aspire Initiative is comprised of two regional collaboratives (RCs), West Texas and North/East Texas, working in collaboration with the APLU and other organizations to prepare a more diverse STEM faculty workforce at two-year higher education institutions (community and junior colleges).

The Texas Regional Alliances have two specific objectives:

(1) To foster the engagement of four-year institutions and partnering two-year institutions for the purpose of creating a diversified and well prepared pool of future STEM faculty; and

(2) To develop programs that will allow graduate STEM students from UTEP, UT Arlington, UT Tyler, and UT Permian Basin to explore the possibility of a rewarding career at two-year institutions through meaningful and intensive mentoring relationships.

Participating Institutions

University of Texas at Arlington - www.uta.edu

The University of Texas at El Paso - www.utep.edu

University of Texas of the Permian Basin - www.utpb.edu

University of Texas at Tyler - www.uttyler.edu

El Paso Community College - www.epcc.edu

Midland College - www.midland.edu

Howard College - www.howardcollege.edu

Tarrant County College - www.tccd.edu

Tyler Junior College - www.tjc.edu

Odessa College - www.odessa.edu/

Texas Regional Collaborative Leadership Team

West Texas Representatives

Carlos Amaya, El Paso Community College

Agniprava Banerjee, The University of Texas at El Paso

Thomas Ready, Midland College

Tim Contreras, Odessa College

Benjamin C. Flores, The University of Texas at El Paso

Stephen Hobbs, Howard College

Milka Montes, University of Texas Permian Basin

Sara Rodriguez, The University of Texas at El Paso

North/East Texas Representatives

Gigi Delk, Tyler Junior College

James Grover, University of Texas Arlington

Jean Maines, Tarrant County College

Stephen Rainwater, University of Texas Tyler